Rugged Tales

Wherever my feet may take me…

What goes up must come down

2 Comments

Everest Base Camp is a watershed: your choices are to climb up or walk back down. Climbing (as the attentive reader will have spotted from my last post) is not for me, so down it was.

The day of our departure dawned sunny and mild. I drank in the views from my tent for the last time as I packed up and headed for a final camp breakfast. The climbers were also leaving that day, heading back down to climb Lobuche for the next phase of their preparations. We all walked out of camp together, pausing by the entrance sign for a team photo before heading off back down the trail to Gorak Shep.

The IMG Hybrid team and their trekking companions - together for the last time!

The IMG Hybrid team and their trekking companions – together for the last time!

As we descended, the weather – and my mood – clouded over. I was sad to say goodbye to the climbers, and although I had nothing to add to the proceedings it felt somehow wrong to just abandon them to the challenges ahead. But abandon we must: a little past Lobuche, they headed up along the right hand side of the valley and back to Lobuche Base Camp, whilst we climbed the left hand side back to Dughla and Pheriche. It started to snow as I watched them grow smaller and smaller in the vast mountain landscape until, finally, they disappeared round the curve of the hill. I already missed their company, and wondered when I would see them all again.

In the chilly, gloomy weather and this sombre frame of mind I came upon the largest concentration of memorials to those who have lost their lives on Everest. Rising stark against the leaden sky on a hilltop above Dughla they were an unwelcome reminder of the risks my friends will face in seeking to achieve their ambitions.

The memorials to those who have lost their lives on Everest.

The memorials to those who have lost their lives on Everest.

I remarked to my fellow trekker, Dale, that I would prefer not to be passing so many memorials just after having said goodbye to everyone. “Why couldn’t we have come upon monuments celebrating all those who’ve climbed successfully instead?” I grumbled. “Well,” he replied, “for one thing there isn’t nearly enough room.” And it’s true: the thousands of successful summits dwarf the fatalities, the ratio is still improving and IMG has a particularly impressive safety record. Thankfully, there has never been a safer time to climb Mount Everest.

Author: ruggedtales

Wandering the globe in search of insight and adventure!

2 thoughts on “What goes up must come down

  1. Now that you are no longer with Viki, how do we keep up with what is going on???

    I’ve really enjoyed your reports, btw. Thank you for including me on the journey.

    Angie

  2. Thank you, Angie! I’m so glad you enjoyed my posts. I’ve really enjoyed both the trip and writing about it.

    You can keep up with Viki and the team on the official IMG blog at http://www.mountainguides.com/everest-sou th13.shtml Also, Alan Arnette creates a digest of all the Everest coverage on his blog http://www.alanarnette.com/blog/everest/ It’s a good read and gives comprehensive, balanced coverage of the Everest season and highlights of different Everest blogs all in one place.

Leave a Reply

